Meet the Team - Australia

May 15, 2017


With the inaugural International Futsal Alliance (IFA) Women’s Futsal World Cup just a couple of days away, it’s time to introduce you to the next participating team. Next up, it’s the team who will be making the longest journey to participate. All the way from Oceania, is team Australia.

Australia is an extremely active country when it comes to futsal participation at local, national and international level. The Futsal Australia setup provides playing opportunities for young players across the country, with regular tours to Europe at the youth age group.

Whilst this is the inaugural edition of the IFA Women’s Futsal World Cup, it isn’t the first competition outright. In 2016, Australia’s U17 boys team become the first ever IFA world champions. On that occasion they saw off stiff competition from USA and hosts Scotland, in the tournament which took place in Dundee.

Australia head coach Jodie Hammond said: “Being part of the International Futsal Alliance has given our senior women's players a pathway to play at international level.  Being part of the Women's Futsal World Cup is such a great opportunity for us to play against other nations.

“I'm really looking forward to it. I think there will be a high level of competition and the location will be great. It is generally once a year that the Australian Women's Futsal Team competes at international level. As you can imagine, the format and players of the team changes from year to year, let alone every four years a World Cup takes place.  We will strive to come together and be the most successful Australian Women's Team yet.  I hope that as a team we not only progress to be better, but enjoy the experience at the same time.

“I am hopeful that Australia will perform well and place in the finals. Of course any team goes into the event to win it and this World Cup will be no different.  

Hammond, along with her coaching team of Gregory Farrell and Amanda Bowering, have picked the following squad: 

Jessica    Lindquist, Lindsey Jobling, Sophie Jones, Andrea Preiato, Chelsie Winchcombe, Shannon Day, Lori Depczynski, Jasmin Kent, Rhianna Pollicina, Britt Hargreaves, Melissa Khoury, Caitlin Jarvie.

Keep your eyes on the IFA social media and website, for an introduction to the other Women’s Futsal World Cup participating teams.

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Please reload

© International Futsal Alliance 2019