USA too good for the hosts as they claim the World Cup

December 10, 2017

The United States of America won the IFA Under 14s Boys World Cup after beating Catalonia in a thrilling final. Catalonia took an early lead through Marcos Carrasco but America fought back with four goals in eleven minutes through Ronaldo Michel Reyes and Devin Brown. Robert Michel got America’s fifth before Reyes completed his hat-trick before half time. Brown completed his own hat-trick just after half-time and added his fourth not long after. Carr


asco completed his hat-trick with five minutes to go thanks to a penalty and got a fourth a few minutes later, sandwiching Kevin Estrada’s effort for the USA as America claimed the trophy.


Catalonia took a very early lead as Carrasco’s strike took the American goalkeeper by surprise and found the back of the net. Carrasco was in the mood and threatened again but this time the keeper was able to palm the ball away.


USA equalised a few minutes later as they played their way up the pitch with Reyes finishing off the move. America looked to be on top and Angel Iniquez was unlucky not to slide in a second, but the keeper smothered the effort.


America took the lead on the eighth minute as a long ball forward was finished off well by Brown before Iniquez had another chance but he fired over after good work down the right by Brown.


The USA doubled their lead five minutes later thanks to a stunning finish from Reyes as he fired the ball into the top corner, giving the keeper no chance. Catalonia were by no means out of this game and Adrian Ortega came close to closing the gap but his flick went wide after he collected a high ball that had eliminated all the USA defenders.


Brown got his second of the game on 16 minutes as he and Iniquez broke with Brown finishing off the move. Catalonia hit the post as they tried to rescue the game but Michel increased the gap between the sides as he jinked left and right before striking the ball underneath goalkeeper.


Carrasco was the most dangerous player for Catalonia and he struck again with another good strike, catching the keeper cold to reduce the deficit. The USA got the last say of the first half as Reyes spun away from two defenders and struck the ball into the net to give America and good sized half time lead.


Half time: USA 6 – 2 Catalonia


The USA started the second half as they finished the first with a carbon copy of their fourth goal as Iniquez and Brown broke again with the latter tapping in to complete his hat-trick. Both sides created chances as Catalonia tried to get back into the match.


Both sides forced good saves from each keeper as Catalonia pushed forward with the USA continuing to try and catch the tournament hosts on the break. The Catalonia goalkeeper, Xavier Tarres pushed forward in an attempt to try and get back into the game but America punished them with one long ball forward with Brown finishing off putting the ball into an empty net.


America seemed to gain more energy from their latest goal and Reyes was denied twice in a matter of second as the USA tried to get a ninth goal to sweeten the victory however, Catalonia were in no mood to lie down with Carrasco twice going close.


Carrasco completed his hat-trick on the 65th minute as he converted a Catalonian penalty high into the top corner but the USA responded immediately through Estrada.


The goals were flying in at the end of this match as Carrasco got his fourth of the match but it wasn’t enough as the USA secured the victory and the IFA World Cup.


FULL TIME: USA 9-4 Catalonia


Man of the Match

USA: Devin Brown and Ronaldo Michel Reyes – Both scored a hat-trick in the final, can’t split them


Catalonia: Marcos Carrasco – was Catalonia’s biggest threat and scored four times, unlucky to be on the losing side


Magic Moment

USA: The lovely move that saw Reyes spin away from the Catalonian defence and secure his hat-trick


Catalonia: Carrasco’s first goal, stunning strike to give his side an early lead

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Please reload

© International Futsal Alliance 2019